Random Thoughts For a Random Day


Do you know that poem, “Monday’s child is fair of face, Tuesday’s child is full of grace. Wednesday’s child is full of woe, Thursday’s child has far to go…”?  I am a Wednesday child and all my life have always thought Wednesdays were ‘my’ day of the week, for good things and for bad.  So, here on a Wednesday, while I’m waiting for the oven timer to go off, a couple of ideas that have been running through my byzantine brain…..

Tomorrow is Nouveau Beaujolais day – Hello, wine store!  I’ll be there at 9am promptly.  I’ll be bringing wine to Thanksgiving dinner with the in-laws.  Which is good because I won’t be bringing the family member who’s made me the in-law as he has to work. It’s just like being married to the junior ensign all over again!!!

Baking is therapeutic. And if I pretend hard enough, I’ll wear off the calories I’ll consume from the banana bread & cupcakes by beating and pouring and decorating really, really hard.  Right?

I love to play cribbage.  I miss my darling girl every time we play, but it also some how brings her closer at the same time.  Plus – I beat Jeff almost always 🙂   On the other hand, he beats me 90% of the time when we play backgammon.

Under Feeling My Age for $600, Alex, “Inviting the youngest child of your best friend to come for a weekend visit on her own, in her own car, TO GO PUB CRAWLING”. On the upside, she’s smart and funny and beautiful and we’re bound to have a blast. Just as long as I’m in bed by 10… (Is it bad form to laugh at your own joke??)

Dreams don’t mean anything you don’t want them to.  I have to believe this after the dream I had sometime between 4am and 7am today.  And no, it was neither prurient nor violent.  It was completely improbable and also made me just a little angry.

When I grow up, I would like to be just like Representative Gabby Giffords.  She’s not angry about being shot and so grievously injured.  Learning to lose all of my anger is still an on-going battle, and my ‘injuries’ were nothing in comparison to hers!

If I save $10 a week, how many years will it be before I have enough to go to Paris? And stay there for a week.  Eating one meal a day and a lot of baguettes.

Why do we have food cravings? I mean, at this moment, I would kill for a nice hot casserole filled to bubbly-good overflowingness of scalloped potatoes in a creamy, cheesy sauce with sweet onions.  So I’m pretty sure I know what’s going to be served with the roast chicken tonight…

It’s almost Christmas card time. I love writing Christmas cards, but for the last two years, we started late.  This year – we begin next week. If you want a Christmas card, please email your snail mail address.  Almost as much as writing Christmas cards, I love shopping for Christmas cards for the next year on Boxing Day.

Which leads me to… however will I cope without a “real” Boxing Day this year?

And finally, in today’s wander through my brain, if companies are allowed to do pre-employment drug screening tests, why aren’t would-be employees allowed to do pre-employment company ethics screening tests?

“…Friday’s child is loving and giving, Saturday’s child must work hard for a living.  But the child that’s born on the Sabbath Day is bonnie and blythe and good and gay.”  (This was when ‘gay’ meant happy.)

Enjoy the rest of your Wednesday, everyone.

 

 

 

One thought on “Random Thoughts For a Random Day

  1. you piqued my curiosity so I googled it… I was born on a tuesday… “full of grace…” which kinda cracks me up in all ironic honesty… you know, referenced as ‘little joy’ and mikey knick-naming mom “grace”….
    enjoy your thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

