The Nooks & Crannies of My Mind


If you’ve read this blog before, or if you know me at all, you have some idea that my mind is pretty tortuous little thing, taking me on convoluted paths when I’m awake and thinking, and driving me down back alleys when I’m asleep.

Since the turn of the year, I have been working really quite hard on the series of short stories, putting in two thousand word days almost every day.  Now, to be fair, the day after each writing session, all two thousand words don’t seem to be quite the gems they did when pouring out of my mind, through my fingers and onto this computer screen.  Still, the brain is clicking along, the imagination is crisp and clear, and I feel as if I’m learning something as well as making something.   Only time will tell, of course, but it’s a nice feeling while it lasts.

Having a peculiarly untidy imagination seems to be quite useful in writing these stories,  perhaps a little less so when working on the food memoire.  I mean, it’s a memoire, which means it’s supposed to be true.  Or as true as I remember it to be.  I have been learning that what I remember isn’t necessarily exactly what happened according to other “sources”.  However, cooking the recipes has so far been fun, and I am looking forward to doing still more over the next few weeks.

BEFORE Christmas, pretty much during the entire month of December in fact, when I wasn’t writing more than 100 Christmas cards, I spent my time working on one single blog post, which I still have not put up.  The first draft happened quickly and I got out the ideas which were rolling around my convoluted mind but… I didn’t like the WAY I was putting them.  My tone varied from self-satisfied to pretty damn close to whining, neither of which was correct at all.

Writing that post – or trying to write it – reminded me again how difficult it is to know that you’re right about something, and then discovering that your assured correctness might very well be hurting someone else.  So, I will continue to work on that post, and it will go up, and I will find a way to honour my beliefs, honour a friend, and respect another.

All of this by way of saying, I am going to be more faithful about this blog.  I have missed talking with you, I have missed hearing from you – those of you who have taken the time to offer words of encouragement & support – and I certainly have missed digging out the nooks & crannies.

2 thoughts on “The Nooks & Crannies of My Mind

  1. Dia,

    No worries about you doing what’s correct. That doesn’t mean it’s right but what life is. I think we all run into situations where “We can be right or we can be happy”, not both.
    Looking forward to reading the blog.

    Ute

Leave a Reply

