Doing The Happy Dance


This has been a long, unproductive day.  I feel like a wet rag that should have been thrown in the washer two days ago.  The dust bunnies are staring at me, taunting me with their size and their ability to reproduce in a heartbeat (and wouldn’t it be nice if they could birth a little wine, maybe a box of chocolates, instead of more bunnies?).

If you begged, I might be able to show you a paragraph that doesn’t make me nauseous, but don’t count on it.  There’s no food in the refrigerator that isn’t a condiment or at least three weeks after the ‘best by’ date.  I’m going to have to wear the “getting lucky” underwear tomorrow even as the laundry basket overflows.  And it’s 52/11 degrees… which is so wrong for January I cannot begin to explain.

So I’m sitting here in the living room, tapping my feet to some rock music I don’t know, wearing my summer sleep pants (see note above about overflowing laundry basket) and a t-shirt, and I’m getting ready to do a little Happy Dance!

And why, may you ask, is someone who has patently had a crummy day anxious to get up and dance?  BECAUSE I CAN!!

Yes, my day sucked.  No, I don’t feel like dancing.  But the very fact that I have the chance to complain about it, the very fact that I have a choice between seasonal clothes, the very fact that I have the strength and health to stand up and dance means I need to do a little Happy Dance!  And because I am a dreadful, dreadful dancer – most people who say that are just hiding their awkwardness or shyness on the dance floor; I am a potential weapon of destruction on the dance floor – dancing will make me laugh… at myself, at the world, doesn’t matter.  I will laugh, and I will get some exercise, and I will drive the grey cat a little crazy, and the evening will be better.

So the next time you have a crummy sort of day, turn up the music, move your feet just a little, and be grateful for what you have and what you can do.  As that earworm of a song says “Tomorrow! Tomorrow! I love you tomorrow! You’re only a day away!”

Leave a Reply

